top of page


Releases new sing le 'Gaagige', taken from new album Bekka Ma'iingan arriving April 28th 2023.

Zoon (Zoongide’ewin), the music of songwriter and composer Daniel Monkman, offers another peek into from their forthcoming sophomore LP, Bekka Ma'iingan (Bay-Ka Mo-Een-Gan), with a new single and visualizer for ‘Gaagige’ (which means 'forever' in Ojibwe). The album is set for an April 28 release via Paper Bag Records.

‘Gaagige’ features guitar and vocal accompaniment from Andrew McLeod/Sunnsetter + string arrangements by Owen Pallett. Daniel further explains,

“I wrote the music for Gaagige when I was going through a period in my life of questioning life and death. In my language 'Gaagige' means 'forever.' I started to obsess about the concept of 'forever.' When I was younger that concept started to scare me because I really wanted death to be the final resting spot. Now ten years later I have a new relationship with death and this song is about me accepting and not worrying.”

Zoon has been universally celebrated since the release of their widely acclaimed 2020 debut, Bleached Wavves. Their return with Bekka Ma'iingan offers a deepening experiential journey. It offers to transport the listener into new conversations through Zoon's ever evolving and exploratory lens, and their freedom seeking, both musically and personally.

To create the full-length album, Monkman recruited Polaris Music Prize inaugural winner Owen Pallett to compose sweeping string arrangements, then performed by the FAMES Orchestra. Grammy nominated Michael Peter Olsen, who is a regular in Zoon’s live band, played on the new record as did Zoon’s drummer Andrew McLeod/Sunnsetter. Grammy Award winner Mark Lawson mixed the album, and in a burst of creative collaboration, after meeting in Montreal, Sonic Youth's Lee Ranaldo played on album track ‘Niizh Manidoowig (2 Spirit).’


bottom of page