Announce new album, Parts
Due 24th August on Joyful Noise Recordings
The duo presents new track "Water" 

Ohmme (aka the duo of Sima Cunningham and Macie Stewart) amalgamate the aggressive

and the meditative on their bold debut full-length album, Parts due 24th August on 

Joyful Noise Recordings.

Alongside the announcement, they've shared new single, "Water", and say of it:

“We visualized the song as a grade-school science experiment— throwing

oil and water and sand into a glass together and watching those elements separate out and swirl past each other.

It's a fun challenge to keep your head and voice light and easy while your arms are working away at this aggressive guitar rhythm.”

Cunningham and Stewart share a special penchant for two instruments in particular.


"The band started because we knew we could sing well together and we wanted to make some noise with the guitar,” says Cunningham.

Stewart elaborates,

“Sima and I are both trained classical pianists and we know many of the sonic spaces keyboards have to offer.

Since we were interested in experimenting and creating something

different from what we had both done in the past, we chose guitar as

our outlet for this band. We wanted to create parameters for ourselves

that were both new and uncomfortable to force ourselves into a

different creative space.”

These guitar-heavy experiments are sometimes earthy and resounding, at other times shimmering and buzzing—swirling around the duo's expertly crafted vocals while creating a chaotic bed of harmony. Cunningham's smoky croon complements Stewart's higher-register coo, all underpinned by the restrained yet inventive polyrhythmic percussion of drummer Matt Carroll. Enlisting fellow Chicago cohorts Doug McCombs, Ken Vandermark and cellist Tomeka Reid, Ohmme recorded and self-produced Parts from Cunningham’s Logan Square home studio,

Fox Hall.
Still in their 20s, Cunningham and Stewart are established performers in the Chicago scene. They’re constant collaborators and have recorded and toured with acts as varied as Tweedy, Whitney, Chance The Rapper and Twin Peaks.



Ohmme - Water

Ohmme – Parts

1. Icon
2. Grandmother
3. Parts
4. Water
5. Liquor Cabinet
6. Peach
7. Sentient Beings
8. Left Handed
9. Walk Me

Pre-order here


  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Tumblr Clean
  • Soundcloud Clean
  • Instagram - White Circle

© 2 0 2 0   B I Z Z A R R E . C O .  U K