H. Grimace

London-based post-punk four-piece, H. Grimace are announcing their debut album ‘Self Architect’, which is set for release April 7th via Opposite Number.

The band are sharing the first single from the record ‘Land/Body’ online now.



Offering some insight into the new single, the band said "'Land/Body' is a song which took inspiration from the idea that we are living through the end of nature and what changes have occured from the likes of mass production and standardisation. It delves into the possibilities that this has effected our sense of belonging and roots as Hannah sings ‘Nothing thrives in uniformity’, truly resonating that notion." .


The upcoming debut album follows on from 2015’s sold out ‘I Am Material’ tape and the critically acclaimed ‘Royal Hush’ 7”, which came out last year. ‘Self Architect’ reveals a sharper and more empathic feel to the band’s already relentless output.

Made up of Hannah Gledhill (vocals/guitar), Marcus Browne (guitar), Corin Johnson (bass) and Diago Gomes (drums), H. Grimace masterfully hone in on their part shoegaze, part post-punk compositons on their upcoming debut. The foundations of which are laid by the integral guitar pairing of Marcus Brown and Hannah Gledhill, from Yorkshire and Melbourne respectively.
Singer Gledhill's vocals and lyrics are self-reflective and question contemporary social pressures to do with image, work, power and our connection to the land. The collaboration in the album's opening track '2.1 Woman' features poet and artist Vivienne Griffin who critiques the constant pressure exerted on women to create better and better versions of themselves.

These new songs have been recorded with long standing engineer and friend Rory Attwell and mixed by both Rory and Ben Greenberg, formerly of ‘The Men’ and currently in Sacred Bones-signed Uniform, who the band met and found an instant affinity with on their extensive US tour last year. 

H. Grimace will be bringing their vigorously captivating live show to the UK this year.





17th Feb - The Lexington w/ Great Ytene, LONDON
26th March - The Old Blue Last, LONDON
13th April - Rough Trade East, LONDON


   B I Z Z A R R E 

H. Grimace - ‘Self Architect’ 

1. Thoroughbred
2. Land/Body
3. Call It Out
4. 2.1 Woman
5. Lipsyncer
6. Self Architect
7. Excavations 
8. Jockey 
9. The Dial
10. Royal Hush

Pre-order 'Self Architect' here



  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Tumblr Clean
  • Soundcloud Clean
  • Instagram - White Circle

© 2 0 2 0   B I Z Z A R R E . C O .  U K