Acclaimed UK-based Composer Carly Paradis has just released her third album ‘Nothing Is Something’.

Carly has collaborated with an incredibly talented and eclectic mix of artists on the album, including Mew’s Jonas Bjerre, EERA, singer songwriter Douglas Dare (Erased Tapes), US composer/singer-songwriter Tamar-Kali, Polarbear, and Stranger Things composer Michael Stein (of S U R V I V E) amongst many others.

While elements of the music are rooted in the beauty of modern classical, her musical excursions are pushed out into the adventurous, outsider pop sensibilities of Stereolab, Broadcast, and Bell Orchestra.

Nothing Is Something’ is a collection of powerful, emotive songs which enraptures the listener from the moment it begins. Sometime collaborator with critically acclaimed film composer Clint Mansell (Requiem for a Dream, Black Swan), Carly Paradis has composed an album of staggering beauty; from start to finish the album takes the

listener on an unforgettable, euphoric journey with brooding lyrics and soaring

strings capturing every emotion along the way.

The album includes the haunting end credits theme to the hugely successful Netflix original series The Innocents, featuring EERA and the London Contemporary Orchestra, which was 2018's winner of the Hollywood Music In Media Awards (HMMA) for

Best Original Song for TV Show/Limited Series.

Carly says:
“It was an honor to work with so many talented singers and artists I adore, and see how they interpret my work.

For me, the different voices embody the concept that life’s essential growing pains and feelings are not just mine but shared by everyone, and when

you think there’s nothing, it’s actually something.

Whether the space in the sky above us, or the feeling of hopelessness, it’s

still something, and I find that comforting and universal”.

She's known for her heart stopping score for number-one BBC drama series Line of Duty, once again entered the lives of millions of households in the UK this year.

Creator, Jed Mercurio says "Carly Paradis is a brilliantly talented composer whose music can shred your nerves or break your heart".

All music and lyrics are by Carly Paradis except on ‘I Can’t Wait To Get Things Started’ where the lyrics were written by Polarbear.

‘Nothing Is Something’ is produced by Carly Paradis and mixed by Satoshi Noguchi in New York and Olga Fitzroy in London.

The vinyl edition will be available in Winter 2020.


Album Track List:

The Crushing Weight of History (Ft. Jonas Bjerre)
Heaven Ain’t A Place
The Innocents (Ft. EERA and the London Contemporary Orchestra)
Forget Me Not (Ft. Douglas Dare)
I Can’t Wait To Get Things Started (Ft. Polarbear)
Intimacy and the Avant-Garde (Ft. Galya Bisengalieva)
If you Want to be Somebody Else (Ft. Kendra Frost and Gregor Riddell)
One Light in the Sky (Ft. Tamar-Kali)
Binaural Glass
The Crushing Weight Of History (Michael Stein of S U R V I V E remix)




Carly Paradis– Nothing Is Something

Order here


  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Tumblr Clean
  • Soundcloud Clean
  • Instagram - White Circle

© 2 0 2 0   B I Z Z A R R E . C O .  U K