Shares new single "By The Water's Edge"
From new album 'Passover' due Jan 19th via Forged Artifacts
London & Cambridge shows announced

Ahead of his album release on Jan 19th, London-based mulit-instrumentalist & songwriter 

A Grave With No Name is sharing his new single "By The Water's Edge" from the record. 

The new album is all about A Grave With No Name, aka, Alexander Shields, revisiting his family home after his grandma passed away and about exploring the mortality of loved ones.

In his own words, the new single,


"By the Water’s Edge", "is about when you feel both the presence and absence of someone in everything around you."

For some years now A Grave With No Name has been mining a distinctive vein of haunted

art-rock, to spellbinding effect. His sixth album ‘Passover’ is his most most vital and poetic release to date, presenting the artist’s wide-ranging musical approaches so far, and forging skillful, at times surprising, new sounds from those unique textures.
Shields wrote the songs, which he describes as a set of “interlocking short-stories”, during a stay in his family home in the wake of his grandmother’s death - a home he shared with her throughout his young life. As such, a spectral presence makes itself known throughout ‘Passover’, with themes such as the mortality of loved ones, and returning to the bosom of the family being explored, alongside a burning questioning of the comforts of religion and ceremony, and our attempts to reconcile the elemental with the domestic.
Whereas previous records such as 2014’s ‘Feathers Wet, Under the Moon’ saw him working with a large ensemble of players including members of Lambchop, Silver Jews, and guitarist William Tyler‘Passover’ reflects its intimate themes by pairing Shields with childhood friend, drummer Daniel Paton, and brings aboard bassist Ben Reed who worked on Frank Ocean’s ‘blond(e)’

and ‘Endless’ albums.

Recording once again at London’s Holy Mountain studios with producer Misha Hering, Shields creates meticulously crafted tapestries by weaving field recordings, and ambient sounds through the looms of melodic tape-warped country-rock ("By the Water’s Edge""Wreath"), haunted skeletal folk ("Hot Blood", "Hunter") and lonesome string ballads ("Wren").
A culmination of all that came before it, yet a singular achievement in its ambition and scope, ‘Passover’ makes a remarkable addition to an already fascinating catalogue.



23rd Jan - Olympic Cafe, Paris FR
24th Jan - The Portland Arms, Cambridge UK
25th Jan - The Waiting Room, London UK 



A Grave With No Name – Passover

1. Supper
2. By The Water's Edge (stream)
3. Path
4. Wreath (stream
5. Hunter
6. Blunt Knives
7. (Interlude)
8. Pottery & Porcelain
9. When I Pass Through Here (stream
10. Kitchen
11. Canary
12. Hot Blood
13. Wren

Pre-order here


  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Tumblr Clean
  • Soundcloud Clean
  • Instagram - White Circle

© 2 0 2 0   B I Z Z A R R E . C O .  U K